Stage Two

CILEx Level 6 Professional Higher Diploma in Law and Practice

What is the CILEx Level 6 Professional Higher Diploma in Law and Practice?

This is the second stage of Chartered Legal Executive training and is appropriate for those who have achieved the CILEX Level 3 Professional Diploma in Law and Practice.

Who is it for?

To be eligible for the CILEx Level 6 Professional Higher Diploma in Law and Practice, you must:

  • have studied at AS-Level, A-Level, Level 3 or equivalent; AND/OR 
  • have had substantial experience in the area of law relating to your chosen subject. 

You may also qualify for exemptions.

What will I study?

The CILEx Level 6 Professional Higher Diploma in Law and Practice is comprised of:

1 legal practice unit + 1 linked law unit + 2 law units of your choice + 2 mandatory professional skills units (Client Care Skills and Legal Research Skills)

The full lists of law units, practice units and professional skills units are given below.

Law units

You select three law units, one of which must be linked to your practice unit.

Unit Number Unit Title
Unit 1 Company and Partnership Law
Unit 2 Contract Law
Unit 3 Criminal Law
Unit 4 Employment Law
Unit 5 Equity and Trusts
Unit 6 European Union Law
Unit 7 Family Law
Unit 8 Immigration Law
Unit 9 Land Law
Unit 10 Landlord and Tenant Law
Unit 11 Planning Law
Unit 12 Public Law
Unit 13 Law of Tort
Unit 14 Wills and Succession

Practice units

You select one practice unit from the list below, which must be linked to one of your law units. We have shown the unit number(s) of the linked law units in the far right column.

Unit Number Pratice Unit Title Linked Law Unit
Unit 15 Civil Litigation Unit 2 or Unit 13*
Unit 16 The Practice of Company and Partnership Law Unit 1
Unit 17 Conveyancing Unit 9
Unit 18 Criminal Litigation Unit 3
Unit 19 The Practice of Employment Law Unit 4
Unit 20 The Practice of Family Law Unit 7
Unit 21 Probate Practice Unit 14

*It is recommended that both these law units are studied with Civil Litigation.

Professional skills units

Both of these units are mandatory.

Unit Number Unit Title
Unit 22 Client Care Skills
Unit 23 Legal Research Skills

Which legal practice unit should I choose?

By the time you are working towards the second stage of your Chartered Legal Executive training it is likely that you will know which area of legal practice you want to specialise in. If you are not yet working in a legal environment, then we recommend that you choose the legal practice subject that you enjoyed most at Level 3, unless local employment opportunities lie in another legal practice area.

Once you have passed all your exams you can apply for graduate membership (opens in new window).

You will become a fully qualified Chartered Legal Executive when you have completed qualifying employment.